Greetings!

6 11 2010

I consider myself an optimist.  And I try everyday to enjoy life and experience what has been given to me.  I thought I was doing a good job at this until a few weeks ago.  I was at the annual St. Peter’s Oyster Roast.  I had spent the morning rushing around with my kids.  In true fashion, that day was not only the Oyster Roast, but also Homecoming for the New Kent Falcons who W. cheers for.  I had run all over the place and dragged a tired Maggie with me.  My parents came and relieved me during the game and I was able to head off to the Oyster Roast.

I was sitting at the Raffle table (we work this as a fund raiser every year).  This year we were between the beer truck and the band.  Good locations this year!  I got to watch everyone get drunk and then head out on the dance floor.  One person in particular caught my eye.  S. is someone I had known for years from church.  She is beautiful and has a gorgeous singing voice, and she is so much fun to be around. S. has also been diagnosed with cancer.  Sitting there at the table I watched her dance.  She was having a blast (and based on the cup that was in one hand, I’d bet she was feeling pretty relaxed.  The point was that she was dancing like she was having the time of her life.  I smiled watching her, then a thought went through my head.  ‘I wish I could dance like that!’

This thought really surprised me.  I mean why couldn’t I dance like that.  It took me several days of pondering this to realize that I had become a stick in the mud.  old before my time.  There was a point and time in my life when I would have been out there with her, but now? Now I was content to sit on the side lines and watch life pass me by.

I have noticed this trend trickling over into other areas, and I must admit it has got me concerned.  So, it is a little early in the year for a New Years’ Resolution, but here is what I am working on for myself.

To enjoy myself.  I mean, you only get one chance to enjoy life, grab it by the horns and go for it.  It is easier to say I really shouldn’t have done that and have the experience than to look back in another 20 years and think, okay why didn’t I do that?

To teach my kids about the simple things that can be enjoyed.

To spend less time running and more time sitting and enjoying.

To worry less about what the house looks like and more about what I could be doing with my kids instead of sitting on the couch on the computer.

This is just a start, and we’ll see how it goes, but so far? I’m liking this!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

